30 Days of Truth – Day 7-8-9

Day 7: Someone who has made your life worth living for.

Going to go all cliché on this one and say my kids, because quite honestly they have made my life worth living.  On days when I have felt that no one else cared or that I even mattered to them; my three little people have made sure in their own way to let me know that they care and love me.

 

There are days I feel like it’s not worth it, or that the world is cruel and one of them tells me they love me or hugs me or makes an endearing comment; and all is right again….or at least it is in my little world.

 

A hug, a smile, a kiss, a “mommy, I love you” can make the worst of things seem that much better.  Their innocence and inquisity.  And quite frankly,  have daily entertainment because something they do or say is quite often comical.

 

These faces make my life worth living:

Day 8: Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

There was a handful of someone’s when I was in the 6th grade that really made my life hell and basically treated me like shit at the same time.  I had a bad acne problem when I was in the 6th grade, and I was made fun of for it quite a bit.  I was called “pizza face”, “road kill”, “zit face”, “pimple head”….pretty much every name a person with acne could be called.

I had acne when Oxy Clean had first become real popular and had its, “No one will tell you to your face you need Oxy” campaign.  Well after an assembly prior to our “sex ed” classes where we all got “goody bags” which had staples (Oxy, deodorant, etc) and then the girls had tampons/pads and I don’t know what the “extra” the boy’s bag had was.

After the assembly, we all went to class for last period.  After the final bell rang I went to my locker, opened it and an avalanche of Oxy cleaner fell out onto me.

I am not sure who put them in my locker, but I have my ideas; and I do know who called me the names because they did it to my face most of the time.  And because of them my entire 6th and part of my 7th grade year was hell and I completely hated school and every aspect of being 12 and 13 years old.

Day 9: Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

I had a good friend, who I met in middle school, named Jennifer.  We became pretty close and had a lot in common.  She moved during our high school years from Sebring where I grew up to a town near Orlando.  For quite some time we stayed in touch through writing (this was pre-internet), phone calls and visits; and even after a while kept in touch through email.  But after a while those emails, phone calls, letters and visits got further and further in between and eventually just disappeared.  I completely lost touch with her after I moved to Houston in 1999 and have no idea where she even is at this point.  I would love to reconnect with her as I always thought of her as a good friend, even maybe a best friend; and enjoyed the time I spent with her.  She is definitely someone I will never forget.

Leave a Reply

