A “Weighty” Issue

On the radio, not too long ago, it was mentioned that a survey was done of women and nearly 80% said they would give up one (1) year of their lives if it meant they could have and keep an ideal body weight/image for the rest of their lives without having to work at it. Ten (10) percent said they would give up two (2) to five (5) years for the ideal body weight and an additional two (2) percent  said they would give up UP to TEN (10) years of their lives to maintain a ideal body weight/image.  The rest was undecided or didn’t respond.

So this got me thinking, and…well…you know how dangerous that can be.

If giving up  one (1) year of my life could get me to my idea of an ideal body weight/image for myself and possibly allow me an additional ten (10) years of life because I have a weight that is healthy for me; I would do it.  Might seem a little steep to give up a whole year of my life just to be “skinny” but if the weight I am at now is dangerous for my health (which I believe AND know that it is) and being at this unhealthy weight could put me at risk for death five (5) to ten (10) years sooner than I should die; then losing that one (1) year so I could have that additional four (4) to nine (9) years might just be worth it, especially since that is time I could spend with my family.

I never had a problem with my weight when I was younger.  I didn’t have to work hard at losing weight and I could eat anything I wanted to.  I had my oldest young and took the weight off in no time, even took the weight off pretty easily after my second child.  Was a little harder after the third child but I was also older and not as active.  My weight has fluctuated throughout the years from 124 pounds up to 215 pounds. Not something I am proud of but it is something that I struggle with now.  Having depression hasn’t helped and being on some of the medications I take hasn’t either as their side effects include weight gain and/or bloating.  I don’t want to be super skinny I just want to be at a healthy weight and maintain that weight.

So you tell me, would you be willing to give up any amount of time of your life to have and maintain an ideal body weight/image for the rest of your life; one that you don’t have to work out to maintain?

One thought on “A “Weighty” Issue

  1. If all I had to do was to give up a year of my life to be my ideal weight without diet and exercise, I’d do it in a heartbeat. Not because I’m shallow, but because I know I’m healthier, happier and more active when I’m lighter. Like you, I ballooned after my kids and thanks to medication and a slowing, aging metabolism, it’s just not coming off. I’ve been running 30 minutes 3-4 times a week for a month and the needle hasn’t budged. So, to give up a year and to be able to let go of the stress around my weight? Yep. In a heartbeat.

Leave a Reply

