2023, Florida, The Ones about Me, The Ones about Other people

Once Upon A Time…

Once upon a time, I was in journalism and wrote for the school newspaper in little old Sebring, Florida at Sebring High School. We are talking the 90’s here people. Like 1994 to 1998 time line. I came across a few of these articles and I decided to embarrass myself by also sharing them with you. You can thank me later.

I don’t know if this ever ended up with a headline because none of the drafts I have have a headline, but I do believe it got published – but that was a ways ago and a lot, I mean A LOT has happened since then so…

Here is the draft I found:

Students sit in the stands, cheer on the sidelines, and play on the field. Some even do news coverage on the game but, assist with injuries?

The Student Athletic Trainer Program consists of six girls; Julie McClain, Kelly Griffin, Andrea Rhodes, Stephanie Keiber, Jessee Fultes, and Shelly Spiegel; and Dr. John R. Caruso is

The girls meet every Monday with Dr. Caruso to learn the components of sports medicine. They watch videos on injuries and learn how to tape ankles and wrists. “Mainly the players think we are just “water girls”, stated sophomore Andrea Rhodes, “but we do a lot more than just run water.” In their meetings they learn how to diagnose the injuries, to call doctors and the hospital if the injury is serious, and when to make the call for the EMS.

The girls attend football practice Monday thru Wednesday from 4 to 6 pm, Varsity practice from 4-6 on Thursdays, attend a JV game on Thursdays, attend the Varsity game on Fridays, and participate in team therapy on Saturdays.

Dr. Caruso has high hopes for the program. “It’s unfortunate that the girls are called “water girls” but it will probably only happen in football as it is the more macho sport. Down the road as the program develops, they won’t be just running water on the field. The more they learn, they can do to help the athletes,” stated Dr. Caruso, “my hope is to have this program for all of the sports teams at Sebring High.”

When asked what made them want to be a student trainer, the girls involved each had their own reasons:
“I wanted the experience of working in the sports medicine field,” said junior Jessee Fultes.
“I got involved because we have a front row seat of the football players, ” stated sophomore Shelly Spiegel, “Just kidding. A lot of people think that. I like being part of the game instead of just a part of the crowd. I could really make a difference.”
“I like being a student trainer because of all the guys,” sophomore Julie McClain joked, “Kidding. I have fun going to the games, taping the ankles, and just sitting right on the sidelines. Sometimes it may seem like we are not doing much but we are constantly learning.”
“Everything has ups and downs,” replied sophomore Andrea Rhodes, “right now we still have a lot of work to do because this is new to all of us; coaches, the team doctor, players and the student trainers. I am really enjoying all I am learning.”

Dr. Caruso has recently branched the student trainer program out to basketball, swimming, baseball, wrestling, and track. The program does not start over for each sport, the girls simply cycle to the next sport program as the season starts for the current calendar school year. Next year, when the new school year starts, the program will start again from the beginning with the football season and cycle through all the sports again.

“As long as there is an interest in the program, it will continue,” Dr. Caruso stated. There is currently space for six student participants but Dr. Caruso is hoping that he can up it to ten for next year, “We are hoping to expand the program next year to 10 slots for students, I am also hoping we will get interest from both the girls and the boys. The current girls are welcome into the program next year as well, and I hope to see them all return.”

2 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time…”

    1. That I am not sure. I know it did for a few years after we graduated but I believe Dr Caruso’s practice is closed now.

      Like

Comments are closed.