2023, Blogging, Links to Other Blogs, My Thoughts, Opinions, Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge, Writing Prompt, WWBC

Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge

Each Wednesday Long and Short Reviews hosts a blog hop and we hope you join us! Today’s prompt is: Would You Move to a Mars Settlement? Explain.

Moving to a Mars settlement sounds exciting, but I personally would not do it. I love the Earth too much! Here are a few reasons why I wouldn’t move to a Mars settlement:

1. 🌎 Earth’s Beauty: Our planet is filled with breathtaking landscapes, diverse ecosystems, and natural wonders. I would miss the beauty and variety that Earth offers. I love the ocean and that would completely go away if I were to move to Mars.

2. 🌬️ Fresh Air: Breathing in the crisp, fresh air on Earth is something I cherish. Mars has a thin atmosphere with mostly carbon dioxide, which wouldn’t be pleasant to breathe.

3. 🏠 Connection to Home: Earth is my home, and I would miss the sense of belonging and connection with our history, culture, and the people we love. And I know this would be an issue for me because despite living in Texas for longer than I lived in Florida; I was born and raised in Florida and while Texas may be “home”, I miss so much about Florida and feel grounded when I return to visit.

4. ☀️ Sunshine and Seasons: I enjoy the changing of the seasons even as small as they may be living in a state like Texas that doesn’t experience full season changes (i.e., it feels like summer for half the year or more). I would also miss the warmth of the sun on my skin. Mars has a much colder and unpredictable climate than Earths.

5. 🏪 Convenience: I would miss the convenience we have on Earth. Being able to go to the store or our to eat, the internet, TV, music, etc. I am sure these things will one day be established on Mars but not in the beginning and I would miss them too much to consider leaving Earth for an exploration or test type living situation.

Remember, these are just personal reasons, and some people might have different perspectives. In the end it is all about what feels right for the individual. It is just not something I would personally do.

To see a list of upcoming prompts for the challenge click here. To see what other’s had to say about this weeks prompt and whether they would move to a Mars settlement, click here.

4 thoughts on “Wednesday Weekly Blogging Challenge”

  1. I didn’t think of the seasons! Probably because I’m originally from Florida and we don’t really have those. Great list!

    Like

    1. So am I originally, I live in Texas now so we have a little bit more than Florida but still not as much as up north or other countries.

      Like

  2. I agree, Kel, fresh air is very important, and while you’d have oxygen in a Martian settlement, you wouldn’t be able to breathe Mars’ air. You’d never be able to step outside and take a deep breath like you can on good old Earth.

    Like

Comments are closed.